Scores Upcoming Results
29-Aug-2009 16:48:00 GMT
ICC Awards 2009

2009 ICC Awards Nominees Next Week

Mumbai: The list of nominees shortlisted for the various LG ICC Annual Awards for 2009 would be announced in Mumbai on September 2.

Indian opener Virender Sehwag and former cricketer Ravi Shastri would announce the names of the nominees along with the Chief Executive of the International Cricket Council, Haroon Lorgat.

The sixth ICC annual awards ceremony is scheduled to be held at Johannesburg during the ICC Champions Trophy.

There are eight individual prizes, including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year.

The winners of seven individual awards would be chosen on the basis of voting done by a 25-person panel from around the world made up of former players, media personnel and an elite umpire and match referee.

The nominations for the Women's Cricketer of the Year award would be voted on by another 16-person group featuring former players and other experts on the women's game.

The other three awards are reserved for the Test Team of the Year, the ODI Team of the Year and the Spirit of Cricket award.

Performances of players in the period between August 2008 and August 2009 would be taken into account for deciding the awards, according to the ICC website.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links