Scores Upcoming Results
23-Apr-2013 14:31:00 GMT
RCB vs PWI, IPL 2013, Bangalore

Gayle Record 175, Bangalore Win by 130

Bangalore: Riding on Chris Gayle's unbeaten 66-ball 175, Royal Challengers Bangalore registered a crushing 130-run win over Pune Warriors in their IPL match at the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Tuesday.

Chris Gayle rubbed more salt in Pune Warriors' wounds when he picked up two wickets in the final over of the innings.

Chasing a record total of 263, Pune Warriors could only score 133 for the loss of nine wickets.

Pune Warriors India lost half of their side at the score of 100.

Pune team reached the 100-run mark in 78 balls. Seamer Ravi Rampaul picked up his second and Bangalore's fifth when he dismissed Steven Smith, who scored a brisk 31-ball 41 with the help of six boundaries.

Murali Karthik gave Bangalore first breakthrough as he dismissed Pune's Robin Uthappa in the very second ball of the first over.

Ravi Rampaul picked up the second wicket for Bangalore when he sent skipper Aaron Finch back in the dug out.

Seamer Jaydev Unadkat picked up two quick wickets as he scalped Luke Wright and Yuvraj Singh to dent Pune's mammoth run chase

Earlier, Chris Gayle hit the fastest century in the history of professional cricket blasting an incredible 175 off 66 balls as Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a record 263 for five.

Gayle hit the fastest century, off just 30 balls, and the highest-ever individual score in a T20 game surpassing Kolkata Knight Riders' Brendon McCullum who hit 158 off 73 balls against RCB at this very Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Incidentally, RCB's total was also the highest-ever total in any T20 game.

Put into bat, it was 'Gayle Force' that blew away the Pune Warriors as the big-bodied Jamaican showed his power-hitting ability as he struck 13 fours and 17 sixes en route the fastest ever T20 century off only 30 balls. 154 out of his 175 runs came in boundaries and off only 30 scoring strokes.

Typically, he brought up his century with a six off Ashoke Dinda that sailed over the stadium and in the process also damaged the roof.

The carnage started from the second over bowled by rookie paceman Ishwar Pandey. Playing his first IPL match, Pandey found out what top-level cricket was all about as Gayle hit him for five boundaries taking 21 runs of that over.

Mitchell Marsh and Aaron Finch got even worst treatments as they went for 28 and 29 runs in their respective overs as both were clobbered for four sixes each.

AB de Villiers also played his part to perfection with a cameo scoring 31 off eight balls (3x4, 3x6).

Earlier, Aaron Finch will continue as Pune captain he has won the toss and they will bowl first.

Royal Challengers are unchanged.

In Pune Mitchell Marsh is in for Ajantha Mendis and Ali Murtaza comes in for Rahul Sharma


Royal Challengers Bangalore:
Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Saurabh Tiwary, Arun Karthik (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Vinay Kumar, Murali Kartik, RP Singh, Jaidev Unadkat

Pune Warriors:
Aaron Finch (captain), Robin Uthappa (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Steven Smith, Luke Wright, Mitchell Marsh, Mithun Manhas, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Ali Murtaza, Ashok Dinda

Brief scores
Royal Challengers Bangalore
263 for 5 (Gayle 175*, Dilshan 33, de Villiers 31*)
Pune Warriors 133 for 9 (Smith 41, Gayle 2-5)
Result Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 130 runs
Points Royal Challengers Bangalore 2, Pune Warriors 0
MOM Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links