Scores Upcoming Results
25-Sep-2013 13:50:00 GMT
Scorchers v Otago, CLT20, Jaipur

Broom Ton Sets up Big Otago Win

Jaipur: Neil Broom's scintillating 56-ball 117 not out followed by Ian Butler's figures of 3/47 helped Otago register a 62-run win over Perth Scorchers in their CLT20 tie in Jaipur.

Perth Scorchers seemed to lose the plot as they kept losing regular wickets at regular intervals in the match.

Ian Butler dismissed opener Liam Davis on the first ball of their innings and then scalped Ashton Agar soon after. The Perth miseries were further deepened when skipper Simon Katich was run out without facing a ball.

Adam Voges and Hilton Cartwright then tried to revive the Scorchers when they stitched a steady 65-run partnership for the fourth wicket to compensate for the bad start.

However, the glory was short-lived when Voges (36) was dismissed by Nathan McCullum.

Aston Turner, who dropped Ryan ten Doeschate's catch earlier in the match, was next in line to be dismissed when he became Ian Butler's third scalp of the match.

Earlier, opener Neil Broom blasted a whirlwind unbeaten century, a breathtaking 117 off just 56 balls, as Otago Volts posted a massive 242 for four against Perth Scorchers.

Broom butchered the Australian bowlers with his incredible knock as he plundered nine fours and eight sixes to propel his side to the highest total in the history of the tournament.

Such was the impact of the Broom's electrifying knock, which was third highest individual score in tournament's history, that Otago collected 94 runs in the last five overs.

Only Australian batsman David Warner (135 and 123), who has two centuries two his credit in CLT20, is ahead of Broom in the Champions League. Broom's was only fifth hundred in CLT20.

Broom reached 95 with a six off young paceman Joel Paris and reached the three-figure mark with another big shot as he hit three successive sixes in that over.

Broom was dropped in the first ball of that Paris over, when he was on 87, and he made the Aussies pay quite heavily.

Paris had given away just nine runs in his first two overs as he had rocked the Otago top-order by dismissing Hamish Rutherford and Brendon McCullum in successive balls in the third over but ended up giving away 41 runs the last two.

It was not that Broom went boom boom from the word go. His side had lost skipper McCullum and Rutherford and they were 32 for two in six overs.

Broom got good support from Derek de Boorder (45) with whom he raised a 67-runs to stabilise the innings. But what followed was incredible hitting from Broom and Ryan ten Doeschate, who smashed his way to a fiery 26-ball 66, laced with three fours and six sixes.

Broom and ten Doeschate rattled up a stunning 128-run partnership for the fourth wicket in just eight overs.

Jason Behrendorff broke the stand when he dismissed ten Doeschate in the 18th over but there was no stopping Broom.

Earlier, Perth Scorchers captain Simon Katich won the toss and decided to bowl.

Perth made one change with Burt Cockley replacing Brad Hogg.


Hamish Rutherford, Neil Broom, Brendon McCullum (Capt.), Ryan ten Doeschate, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Derek de Boorder (wk), Ian Butler, Neil Wagner, Nick Beard, James McMillan

Perth: Liam Davis, Ashton Agar, Simon Katich (Capt.), Adam Voges, Ashton Turner, Hilton Cartwright, Tom Triffitt (wk), Joel Paris, Jason Behrendorff, Burt Cockley, Michael Beer

Brief scores
242 for 4 (Broom 117*, ten Doeschate 66, de Boorder 45)
Perth Scorchers 180 for 6 (Cartwright 73*, Voges 36, Butler 3-47)
Result Otago won by 62 runs
Points Otago 4, Perth Scorchers 0
MOM Neil Broom (Otago)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links