Scores Upcoming Results
29-Sep-2013 14:20:00 GMT
Otago v Lions, CLT20, Jaipur

Volts Beat Lions in Thrilling Super Over

Jaipur: Late charge by James Neesham (52 n.o. off 25 balls) helped Otago Volts take the match against Highveld Lions to the Super Over in the Champions League Twenty20 on Sunday.

Chasing 168-run target, Otago Volts lost wickets at regular intervals before Neesham turned the tide with some lusty blows. The southpaw smashed four sixes and two boundaries in his 25-ball gallant effort but failed to carry his team through.

After a decent 51-run stand for the third wicket between Hamish Rutherford (32) and Derek de Boorder (32), Volts lost four wickets for 25 runs to be reduced to 103/6 in 14.4 overs from 78/2 in 9.4 overs.

Volts started on the wrong foot as they lost two wickets inside four overs against Lions.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Ethan O'Reilly struck in their first overs to dismiss Brendon McCullum (5) and Neil Broom (6) respectively and reduce Volts to 27/2 in 3.2 overs.

Sent in to bat, wicketkeeper batsman Quinton de Kock scored a brilliant unbeaten 63-ball 109 to help Highveld Lions post 167/4 against Otago Volts.

De Kock raced to his century in just 60 balls and smacked five maximums and 10 fours in his 63-ball blitzkrieg.

Soon after mid-over wobble, when Lions lost two wickets in consecutive balls, De Kock added 76 runs for the fourth wicket with Jean Symes (20) to lead their fightback. The duo took Lions to 149/4 in 18.1 overs from 73/3 in 11.6 overs.

Lions lost two wickets in successive deliveries of the twelfth over after the openers gave them a decent start.

Volts's Nick Beard struck twice to dismiss Alviro Petersen (0) and Temba Bavuma (13) in the 12th over to reduce Lions to 73/3 11.6 overs.

Lions openers added 44 runs for the first wicket in seven overs before James McMillan trapped Rassie van der Dussen (17) leg before in the next over.

Earlier, Otago Volts skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and decided to field.

Otago are unchanged, and for Lions Bavuma comes in for McKenzie. Phangiso misses out and will be replaced by Ethan O'Reilly.


Rassie van der Dussen, Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma, Alviro Petersen (captain), Jean Symes, Sohail Tanvir, Dwaine Pretorius, Hardus Viljoen, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Ethan O'Reilly

Otago: Neil Broom, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum (captain), Ryan ten Doeschate, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Derek de Boorder (wk), Ian Butler, Neil Wagner, Nick Beard, James McMillan

Brief scores
167 for 4 (de Kock 109*, Beard 3-31)
Otago 167 for 7 (Neesham 52*, Rutherford 32, de Boorder 32, Tahir 2-28, Tsotsobe 2-30)
Result Match tied (Otago won the one-over eliminator)
Points Otago 4, Lions 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links