Scores Upcoming Results
16-Oct-2013 15:35:00 GMT
India v Australia, 2nd ODI, Jaipur

Rohit-Kohli Ton India Chase Down 360

Jaipur: VIrat Kohli (100*) blasted the fastest Indian ODI hundred and Rohit Sharma (141*) got to his highest ODI score, Dhawan cracked 95 as India chased down record 360 against Australia with nine wickets 39 balls to spare.

India have pulled off an amazing victory over Australia. This is the second highest ever run chase in the history of ODI cricket, both chases coming against Australia.

Kohli gets the fastest ODI century by an Indian, the seventh fastest ever.

Kohli, who hit 8 smashing boundaries and 7 scintillating sixes, hit the fastest century by an Indian in one-day internationals in just 52 balls when he surpassed the Virender Sehwag's record.

On the other hand, the immensely talented Rohit Sharma completed his brilliant century in 102 balls with 17 boundaries and 4 sixes to his credit.

The Rohit-Kohli duo also put up a sensational unbeaten 186-run partnership for the second wicket to help India chase the mammoth target, which is the second highest run chase ever in the history of the game.

Kohli started his onslaught as soon as Shikhar Dhawan fell short of a well-deserved century after an impressive 176-run opening wicket partnership with Rohit.

Rohit and Shikhar looked in no mood to show mercy towards the Australian bowlers as they put up the record opening wicket partnership against Australia.

However, Shikhar (95) was dismissed by James Faulkner when the Oz bowler had the southpaw caught behind by Brad Haddin. Shikhar hit 14 smashing boundaries in his 86-ball knock.

Earlier, Australian batsmen yet again took the Indian bowling attack to the cleaners as they scored a massive 359 for five, equaling their highest ever total against India.

Led from the front by their skipper George Bailey (92 not out), the Australian batsmen made merry of a listless Indian attack on a good Sawai Man Singh Stadium track with as many as five of them notching up 50-plus scores.

This incidentally is Australia's highest total on Indian soil surpassing their previous best of 350 for four in Hyderabad in 2009. This total also equalled their highest ever total of 359 for two against India made during 2003 World Cup final in South Africa as well as 359 for four in a VB Series match in Sydney back in 2004.

Phil Hughes (83), Aaron Finch (50), Shane Watson (59) set up the platform for skipper Bailey and Glenn Maxwell (53) to finish the innings with a flourish.

Indian bowlers conceded 122 runs in the last 10 overs of the innings as Bailey and Maxwell sent the Indian attack on a leather-hunt putting on a staggering 96 runs in only 8.3 overs for the fourth wicket.

Bailey bludgeoned the Indian bowling as he faced only 50 balls in his unbeaten innings, hitting eight fours and five sixes.

Both Ishant Sharma (0/70 in 9 overs) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0/54 in 10 overs) lacked penetration as both Finch and Hughes negotiated the duo with ease.

The third seamer R Vinay Kumar was guilty of bowling either too short or only slower deliveries and it only added to skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni's woes. Vinay (2/73 in 9 overs) had the worst figures among the pacers.

Earlier, Australia have won the toss and opted to bat first.

Both the teams went in with an unchanged eleven.


Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Ishant Sharma

Australia: Phillip Hughes, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, George Bailey (Capt.), Adam Voges, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty

Brief scores
359 for 5 (Bailey 92*, Hughes 83, Watson 59, Maxwell 53, Finch 50)
India 362 for 1 (Rohit Sharma 141*, Kohli 100*, Dhawan 95)
Result India won by 9 wickets
MOM: Rohit Sharma (India)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links