Scores Upcoming Results
19-Dec-2013 05:15:00 GMT
New Zealand v West Indies, 3rd Test, Hamilton

Ramdin, Chanderpaul Lead West Indies Fightback

Hamilton: Ramdin scores 4th century and Chanderpaul were involved in a 200-run stand to take West Indies to 289 for 6 at stump on day 1 after early blow in the 3rd Test at Hemilton on Thursday.

West Indies one stage were 86 for 5, Tim Southee and Corey Anderson snapped up four wickets in 34 deliveries to rip the heart out of the West Indies top order.

The New Zealand pair overcame an unresponsive wicket to lure the West Indies into abandoning the cautious approach they took early in the day as the tourists look to level the series.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul unbeaten on 94 while Darren Sammy not out on 0.

New Zealand Anderson had figures of 3/25 and Southee 2/56.

Anderson remove Ramdin just before stump on 107. He smash eighteen boundaries in 148-ball knock.

After going to lunch at 71/1, the West Indies succumbed to the carelessness that has blighted their tour so far and at tea they were 142/5.

Southee started the collapse in the third over after lunch with the removal of Kraigg Brathwaite (45), who fended a rising delivery to Kane Williamson in the gully.

Kirk Edwards followed in Southee's next over, trying to withdraw his bat and giving the faintest of edges to wicketkeeper BJ Watling.

Anderson stepped up to remove Marlon Samuels without scoring and Narsingh Deonarine for two.

Samuels flashed at a full delivery without moving his feet and succeeded only in steering the ball to the gully, where Williamson juggled it twice before completing the catch -- a poor dismissal with his team needing a win to draw the three-Test series.

In the opening session, Neil Wagner took the only wicket when he had Kieran Powell caught behind for 26.

Electing to bowl first, New Zealand are playing the same team that won the second Test inside three days by an innings and 73 runs while the West Indies made three changes.

Sunil Narine replaced spinner Shane Shillingford, who has been suspended for an illegal bowling action, Braithwaite came in for the injured Darren Bravo and Veerasammy Permaul took the place of seamer Shannon Gabriel.


New Zealand:
Brendon McCullum (captain), Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Kirk Edwards, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Tino Best.

Brief scores
West Indies
289 for 6 (Ramdin 107, Chanderpaul 94*, Anderson 3-25)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links