Scores Upcoming Results
19-Jan-2014 09:15:00 GMT
New Zealand v India, 1st ODI, Naiper

Anderson Deliver Win, Despite Kohli Ton

Napier: Anderson blasted a half-century and picked up 2/51 while McClenaghan (4/68) starred with the ball as New Zealand defeated India by 24 runs at McLean Park, Napier on Sunday, despite Kohli 18th ODI ton.

Chasing 293-run target, Virat Kohli and skipper MS Dhoni led India's fightback but India lost wicket regular interval after Dhoni depart.

Kohli continued his red-hot form as he slammed yet another hundred, smacking 11 fours and two six. Dhoni, on the other hand, hits two boundaries and sixes before caught behind.

The duo started dealing in fours and sixes in the batting powerplay as they scored 51 runs in the five overs.

India struggled as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Adam Milne added to India's woes by dismissing out-of-form Suresh Raina for 18 and reduced the visitors to 129/4in 28.2 overs.

New Zealand's Corey Anderson struck in his successive overs to dismiss India's Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane.

Anderson who cracked an unbeaten 40-ball 68, shone with the ball with his double strike to leave India stuttering at 84/3 in 21 over.

India suffered big blow when Anderson broke the second wicket stand between Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli by removing the former.

Dhawan lost his control as he mistimed a pull shot which went to the Ross Taylor.

Dhawan and Kohli steadied India's chase with their 58-run stand after losing Rohit Sharma.

New Zealand pacer Mitchell McClenaghan gave India early blow by dismissing Rohit cheaply. Rohit had a tough time negotiating Kiwi pacers as he faced 23 deliveries for his three runs.

Earlier, Mohammed Shami's four-wicket haul was the highlight of India's inconsistent bowling effort as the visitors were set a formidable target of 293 by New Zealand.

Indian bowlers pulled things back in the death overs after Corey Anderson, the man who broke the record for the fastest ODI hundred recently, threatened to run away with the initiative. The Kiwis eventually finished at 292 for seven.

Anderson hit 68 off 40 balls, his first ODI half-century after Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor put on 121 runs for the third wicket.

Shami was the most successful bowler for the visitors, finishing with 4-55 from nine overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1-38), Ishant Sharma (1-72) and Ravindra Jadeja (1-61) were the other wicket-takers, while R Ashwin (0-52) and Virat Kohli (0-13) finished wicket-less.

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first. The visitors made two changes from their last ODI played in South Africa with Ajinkya Rahane and Bhuvneshwar coming in for the dropped Yuvraj Singh and Umesh Yadav.

New Zealand made one change from their last ODI against West Indies, bringing in Adam Milne for Kyle Mills.

Taylor completed 4000 ODI runs in 121 innings, at the personal score of 15 not out, becoming the second-quickest Kiwi batsman after Nathan Astle (120 innings) to do so.

In the 23rd over of the innings, Williamson brought up his seventh ODI half-century, off 66 balls and hit five fours. The 100-run mark also came up for the hosts in the very same over. Despite the rotation of bowlers, India struggled to check the runs and didn't look like taking any wickets either.

In the 33rd over, things began to happen. First, Taylor brought up his 25th ODI fifty, off 70 balls and with one four. Then, Williamson was out, caught at covers by Ajinkya Rahane off Jadeja, a false-stroke played in the air.

He scored 71 runs off 88 balls, hitting seven fours and ought to be disappointed by his dismissal because he looked set for a three-figure score.

It was a wicket against the run-of-play. In fact, all the dismissals so far in the day were mistakes from batsmen rather than smart bowling, and it was proved again so when Taylor edged to Dhoni in the 37th over.

Taylor scored 55 runs off 82 balls, with just the one boundary, and became the Indian skipper's 300th ODI victim.

Dhoni is the first Indian wicket-keeper to breach this mark, in 239 matches, and the fourth overall after Australia's Adam Gilchrist (472 dismissals in 287 matches), Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara (424 dismissals in 362 matches) and South Africa's Mark Boucher (424 dismissals in 295 matches).

Taylor was the only batsman to fall in the second powerplay as Brendon McCullum and Corey Anderson took 41 runs off those five overs.

The Kiwis were clearly looking to accelerate but faced a small hitch as McCullum was smartly caught by Dhoni in the 42nd over, standing up to Bhuvneshwar.

But Anderson carried on nevertheless, twice hitting the ball out of McLean Park. He hit four sixes in all as well as three other boundaries, bringing up his first ODI half-century off 30 balls, in the 47th over.

In doing so, he put up 66 runs off 37 balls with Luke Ronchi, who scored 30 runs off 18 balls with two fours and two sixes before he was nicely caught at short third-man by a leaping Bhuvneshwar off Ishant.

While Nathan McCullum (2 runs, 5 balls) was the last man out in the penultimate over of the innings, caught and bowled by Shami, Anderson carried on without any worries and thanks to his clean-hitting, the Indian bowling bled 90 runs in the last 10 overs. Tim Southee (3 not out) was the other unbeaten batsman.

Earlier, Indian skipper MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl.


New Zealand:
Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (Capt.), Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (wk), Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuveshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

Brief scores
New Zealand
292 for 7 (Williamson 71, Anderson 68*, Taylor 55, Shami 4-55)
India 268 (Kohli 123, McClenaghan 4-48, Anderson 2-51)
Result New Zealand won by 24 runs
MOM Corey Anderson (New Zealand)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links