Scores Upcoming Results
29-Jan-2015 01:00:00 GMT
South Africa v West Indies, 5th ODI, Centurion

Rossouw and Amla Tons set up 4-1 for South Africa

Centurion: South Africa beat the West Indies by 131 runs in the fifth and final one-day international at SuperSport Park on Wednesday. South Africa won the five-match series 4-1.

The home team produced an all-round quality at the Centurion ground as both batsmen Rossouw (132) and Amla (133) scored centuries and shared a record third wicket stand which helped them post a mammoth score of 361/5 on the board, despite only having 42 overs following a rain delay.

South Africa ended their season on a high with 131 runs win over the Caribbean side, after the latter won the toss and opted to field first. The Proteas brought back Quinton de Kock in place of their star batsman AB de Villiers and made three changes in total. De Kock(4) and Faf du Plessis (16) were out for mere runs as the scoreline read 59/2 in 10 overs.

Rossouw and Amla shared 247 runs in record third-wicket partnership stand as both players scored their centuries. Their third-wicket partnership became the second highest of all time behind the 258 runs scored by Darren Bravo and Denesh Ramdin for the West Indies against Bangladesh last year.

Amla’s composed innings of 133 from 105 deliveries included 11 fours and 6 sixes, while Russouw’s brutal innings of 132 from 98 balls comprised of 9 fours and 8 sixes.

Much was expected from Chris Gayle, but he failed to produce once again, as he got out for a duck in the first ball of the innings from Kyle Abbott, caught behind by de Kock. Gayle has had a miserable series scoring 71 runs in the five ODIs with a top score of 41.

Marlon Samuels fought back and top-scored with 50 off 47 balls, with 4 huge sixes, but was bowled by Abbott in the 28th over, as the tourists were all out for 230 in 37.4 overs.

Wayne Parnell earned himself a valuable confidence boost taking 4 wickets for 42 runs in 9 overs during a spell of eye-catching pace. Abbott ended the match with 2 wickets while de Lange, Phangiso and Behardien completed the match with a wicket each.

Russouw was duly awarded the Man-of-the-match while Amla was given Man-of-the-series award after scoring 413 runs at 206.05 average in the series.

Earlier, West Indies have won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Marchant de Lange, Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla come in for Morne Morkel, Morne van Wyk and AB de Villiers for South Africa.

West Indies have made one change with Narsingh Deonarine, replacing Leon Johnson who has a sore neck.


South Africa:
Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla (Capt.), Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Jean-Paul Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Marchant de Lange

West Indies: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Narsingh Deonarine, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Jonathan Carter, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Jason Holder (Capt.), Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell

Brief scores
South Africa -
361/5 (Amla 133, Rossouw 132)
West Indies - 230 (Samuels 50, Parnell 4-42)
Result - South Africa won by 131 runs

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links