Scores Upcoming Results
08-Feb-2016 15:24:00 GMT
ICC World Twenty20 2016

Tim Murtagh Returns for Ireland ICC World Twenty20 Squad

Tim Murtagh will be part of the Ireland squad at next month's World Twenty20 in India after reversing his decision to retire from the shortest format of the game at international level.

Bowler Murtagh missed last year's World Cup with a foot injury.

Ireland have named an experienced 15-man squad for the biennial tournament.

John Bracewell's side have been drawn in the same group as the Netherlands, Oman and Bangladesh, with the winners qualifying for the Super 10 stage.

Captain William Porterfield is one of five players ready to embark on a fifth campaign in the competition.

The O'Brien brothers, Kevin and Niall, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson have also competed in all four previous tournaments.

Porterfield was at the helm when Ireland first took part in the global showpiece in England in 2009 and has participated in all three subsequent events in the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh

Ireland squad:

  • William Porterfield (capt)
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • George Dockrell
  • Andy McBrine
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Kevin O'Brien
  • Niall O'Brien (wk)
  • Andrew Poynter
  • Stuart Poynter
  • Boyd Rankin
  • Max Sorensen
  • Paul Stirling
  • Stuart Thompson
  • Gary Wilson (wk)
  • Craig Young

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links