Scores Upcoming Results
02-Aug-2016 07:12:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v Australia, 2nd Test, Galle

Sri Lanka Aim for Clinch Series Against Australia

Galle: Sri Lanka have the chance to seal a first series victory over Australia in 17 years when the second Test begins Thursday in Galle.

Rangana Herath, who had match figures of 9 for 103 in Sri Lanka's thrilling win the first Test in Pallekele last weekend, will again be the key to the hosts' chances of success in Galle where he has a formidable record.

Herath took 10 wickets in his last Test outing in Galle, against the West Indies in November. He also ran through India's powerful batting line-up three months earlier when he took a match-winning 7 for 48 in the second innings.

For Sri Lanka a superb 176 by Kusal Mendis in the second innings. A part of Mendis's maiden Test hundred no other batsman passed 50.

Sri Lanka's only previous series victory over the Australians was in 1999 -- 1-0 in a three-match contest in which Herath made his debut.

Sri Lanka are expected to be unchanged for Galle but Australia will be without spinner Steve O'Keefe, who has been forced to fly home with a pulled hamstring.

Uncapped left-arm spinner Jon Holland has been called up as a replacement. The 29-year-old from Victoria, got good shape on the ball, he bowls at a decent pace.

Australia are expected to stick to the same batting line-up but will need their top order to fire after everyone bar Smith failed to pass 50.

Adam Vogues, Joe Burns and Mitchell Marsh all failed to convert starts as Australia squandered an 86-run first innings lead to lose the match by 106 runs.

Teams from

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (Capt.), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Roshen Silva and Kaushal Silva

Australia: Steven Smith (Capt.), David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Moises Henriques, Peter Nevill (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jon Holland

Match facts
4-8 August 2016
Start time 1000 local (0430 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links