Scores Upcoming Results
08-May-2017 07:14:00 GMT
ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India call Pandey for Champions Trophy

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the 15 man Indian squad, which will take part in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy.

This announcement comes after the BCCI cleared the Indian team’s participation in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in its Special General Meeting on Sunday.

Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Rishab Pant and some others have not been included in the squad.

The BCCI announced the team more than two weeks after missing the April 25 deadline set by the International Cricket Council because of the ongoing tussle between the Indian board and the ICC.

Selection committee chairman MSK Prasad on Monday said Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik are the stand-by players for the ICC Champions Trophy, starting on June 1 in England.

"The stand-by players will be issued visas and will practise at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru," said Prasad.

The Virat Kohli-led squad has no surprises with off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and pacer Mohammed Shami making it back to the team after their respective injury lay offs.

India will start their Champions Trophy campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4.

The squad : Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajiyanka Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar, Jasprit Bumrah and Manish Pandey

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links