Live Scores Upcoming Results
09-Jul-2017 16:50:00 GMT
India in Sri Lanka 2017

Rohit and Rahul return for Sri Lanka Test

New Delhi: India have announced a 16-member squad for the three-Test Sri Lanka tour that begins at the end of the month with Rohit Sharma returning back to the fold.

The Mumbai batsman had not played a Test since the final Test against New Zealand last year due to a thigh injury that kept him out for five months .He was subsequently rested from India’s tour of West Indies which comprised of five ODIs and a solitary T20I.

Captain Virat Kohli said it was important to rest a player who had just returned from injury to ensure it doesn’t turn into a recurring one.

With Rohit’s return to the side, Karun Nair has been dropped from the squad and the axe has also fallen on off-spinner Jayant Yadav.

India will begin the tour by playing a two-day practice game in Colombo on July 21.

The first Test, to be played in Galle, begins on July 26. Thereafter the two teams shift to Colombo for second Test (August 3) and Pallekele (August 12). Later, India play five ODIs and a single T20I.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt.), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt.), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhimann Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links