Live Scores Upcoming Results
26-Aug-2017 07:44:00 GMT
2017 Independence Cup

World XI squad for Pakistan tour announced for Independence Cup

Dubai: In a quest to revive cricketing scenes in Pakistan, World XI will play three T20s against the winners of 2017 Champions Trophy. Coached by former Zimbabwe captain Andy Flower, World XI features 14 players in the squad.

Faf du Plessis, captain of South Africa’s T20 and Test sides, will call the shots. The lists boasts of five South Africans, three Australians, two West Indians, one Bangladeshi player, and one Englishman.

The World XI for the Independence Cup:

  1. Faf du Plessis (captain) (SA)
  2. Hashim Amla (SA)
  3. Samuel Badree (WI)
  4. George Bailey (Aus)
  5. Paul Collingwood (Eng)
  6. Ben Cutting (Aus)
  7. Grant Elliott (NZ )
  8. Tamim Iqbal (Ban)
  9. David Miller (SA)
  10. Morne Morkel (SA)
  11. Tim Paine (wicketkeeper) (Aus)
  12. Thisara Perera (SL)
  13. Imran Tahir (SA)
  14. Darren Sammy (WI)

The matches will be played at Lahore on September 12, 13, and 15. After receiving approval from the Punjab Government over security concerns, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had confirmed the news on Monday.

After the terror attacks in 2009 at the same ground, the cricketing nations have often denied to play in Pakistan. This forced the PCB to conduct international matches in UAE. However, Zimbabwe and Afghanistan played one series each in this phase. Sri Lanka and West Indies are expected to tour Pakistan later this year.

To bring cricket back on the Pakistan soil, ICC made financial arrangements for the T20 extravaganza.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links