Scores Upcoming Results
08-Dec-2017 08:00:00 GMT
NZ v WI, 2nd Test, Hamilton

Fvourites New Zealand Looks to Clean Sweep

Hamilton: West Indies braced itself for another trial by bouncers as it faces New Zealand in the second and final Test of the series, starting in Hamilton on Saturday.

Neil Wagner, the chief destroyer in the first Test in Wellington, registered the fourth-best bowling figures ever for New Zealand with 7 for 39 in the first innings, as the home side romped to a win by an innings and 67 runs.

With Southee set to come back in, the seamer most likely to make way seems to be Matt Henry, despite Henry's second innings three-wicket haul in Wellington. As BJ Watling remains unavailable, Tom Blundell will be the home side's wicketkeeper-batsman again.

The big change in the Windies team is that Kraigg Brathwaite, who top-scored for the side with 91 in the second innings, will be leading the team after Jason Holder, the regular captain, was suspended for a Test and fined for a slow over-rate.

Meanwhile, Tim Southee, who missed the first Test for the birth of his second child, is available for selection for the second game. Yet, New Zealand isn't resting on its laurels.

It is well aware of how Windies bounced back in England four months ago, posting a five-wicket win in the second Test there after succumbing to an innings loss in the first match.

The Seddon Park pitch has a reputation for being batsmen-friendly, and that is likely to put a focus on the race between Taylor and Kane Williamson, the captain, to become New Zealand's most prolific century-maker.

The record of 17 is shared by the late Martin Crowe and Williamson, with Taylor one behind on 16. Taylor has scored three centuries and Williamson two in the past six Tests at Seddon Park, which is the home ground for both players.

Incidentally, Taylor was looking good for his 17th hundred in the first Test when he fell for 93 while Williamson was out for one.

Teams from

West Windies:: Kraigg Brathwaite (Capt.), Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich (wk), Kemar Roach, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer

New Zealand: Tim Southee, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson (Capt.), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell (wk), Tom Latham, Neil Wagner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Pitch and conditions

There is likely to be pace, bounce and carry right through the Test. There is some rain forecast for first three days.

Stats and trivia

  • New Zealand have won three of their last four Tests at Seddon Park.
  • Shai Hope needs 42 runs to complete 1000 runs in Tests

Match facts
December 9-13, 2017
Start time 11am local time (2200 GMT -1d)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links