Scores Upcoming Results
16-Dec-2017 06:45:00 GMT
Sri Lanka in India 2017-18

Sri Lanka Drop Lasith Malinga for India T20s

Colombo: Sri Lanka have announced their squad for the upcoming T20I series against India.

Veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga as well as seamer Suranga Lakmal have been left out of the 15-member contingent for various reasons.

According to Sri Lanka Cricket's (SLC) media release, Malinga has been officially 'rested' for the 3-match series.

It is understood that Lakmal was not included in the squad due to the rotation policy revolving around their fast bowlers.

Vishwa Fernando, yet to make his debut in the shortest format, has been called-up to bolster the seam department.

The batting fortunes will rest primarily on the shoulders of the experienced duo of Upul Tharanga and Angelo Mathews.

The likes of Kusal Janith Perera, Niroshan Dickwella and Sadeera Samarawickrama add explosiveness to the lineup.

Thisara Perera, who led Sri Lanka in their previous T20I series against Pakistan, continues to captain the team.

The seam-heavy squad features only one specialist spinner in the form of Akila Dananjaya.

All-rounders Sachith Pathirana, Chaturanga de Silva and Danushka Gunathilaka are the other slow bowling options in the contingent.

Sri Lanka squad: Thisara Perera (c), Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links