Live Scores Upcoming Results
05-Jan-2018 05:32:00 GMT
IPL 2018

CSK Retain Dhoni, KKR Lets Go Gambhir

Mumbai: As expected, the Chennai Super Kings have retained MS Dhoni. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja are the other two players retained by the Chennai Super Kings. Rajasthan Royal have retained the Australian captain Steve Smith.

List of retained players:

  • Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja
  • Delhi Daredevils: Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris and Shreyas Iyer
  • Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell and Sunil Narine
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel
  • Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith

Kolkata Knight Riders, however, chose to retain only two players and the names did not include Gautam Gambhir. The title-winning skipper now moves back into the player pool for the auction, later this month. Kolkata have chosen to retain Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.

Sunrisers Hyderabad also retain only two player.

The former India captain and Steve Smith joined Rising Pune Supergiant after CSK and Rajasthan were banned for two seasons (2016 and 2017) due to involvement in match-fixing. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja joined the Gujarat Lions in 2016.

Dhoni, who has led CSK to two IPL titles in 2010 and 2011, was the captain of the team for all seasons since the first edition in 2008.

Suresh Raina, too, has been with Chennai from the first season. The Uttar Pradesh batsman is the highest scorer in the IPL of all-time with 4,540 runs in 161 matches.

Ravindra Jadeja, who started his IPL career with the Rajasthan Royals, was bought by the Chennai Super Kings for $2 million in 2012. Jadeja has scored 1,732 runs and picked up 82 wickets in his IPL career.

Steve Smith, who joined the Rajasthan Royals in 2014, has scored 1,703 runs in his IPL career so far.

RCB not retain Chris Gayle; he picked up AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan with skipper Kohli.

KXIP retian only Axar Patel.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links