Scores Upcoming Results
31-Aug-2018 07:53:00 GMT
2018 Asia Cup

Bangladesh recall Mithun, Ariful for Asia Cup

Dhaka: Bangladesh have named a 15-man squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 in the United Arab Emirates, which is set to commence on 15 September.

Mohammad Mithun and Ariful Haque have made the squad for the biennial competition at the expense of Anamul Haque and Sabbir Rahman, who were part of Bangladesh's last one-day international series in the Windies earlier this year.

Mithun, 28, is a top-order batsman, who has played three ODIs since his debut in 2014 and last turned out for Bangladesh against Sri Lanka at home in January. Ariful Haque, an all-rounder, is uncapped in ODIs but has played six Twenty20 Internationals.

Masrafe Mortaza will lead the side and Shakib Al Hasan has been named the vice-captain. Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib bolster their batting line-up while Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, and Mortaza are the men with experience among the bowlers.

Group A comprises the defending champions, India, Pakistan and the winner of the ongoing Asia Cup Qualifier 2018. The final will be played on 28 September.

Bangladesh Asia Cup 2018 squad:
Masrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Das (wk), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links