Scores Upcoming Results
16-Oct-2020 17:41:00 GMT
MI vs KKR - 32nd Match, Abu Dhabi

De Kock, Chahar lead Mumbai show of strength

Mumbai Indians 149 for 2 (de Kock 78*, Rohit 35) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 148 for 5 (Cummins 53*, Morgan 39, Chahar 2-18) by 8 wickets

Abu Dhabi: Mumbai Indians defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by eight wickets in their Indian Premier League match at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Friday.

Chasing a target of 149, MI completed the job with opener Quinton de Kock playing a fine innings of 78 off 44 balls.

Captain Rohit Sharma and de Kock got Mumbai’s run chase off to a flyer with a 94-run opening stand. The duo took the defending champions to 51/0 in the six Powerplay overs.

De Kock reached the 50-run mark off 25 deliveries – his third half-century this season – as Mumbai finished their 10 overs with 90 runs on the board.

Introduced into the attack in the 11th over, Shivam Mavi gave KKR a big breakthrough by removing MI captain Rohit for 35 off 36 balls, which features five boundaries and a six.

The new batsman in Suryakumar Yadav had added just 17 runs when he was cleaned bowled by Varun Chakravarthy for a 10-ball 10. MI were 111/2, still needing 38 runs off 39 balls.

From there, Hardik Pandya smashed a 11-ball 21 and his unbeaten 38-run stand with de Kock helped MI cross the line.

Earlier, KKR lost their first wicket early as Suryakumar Yadav took a stunning catch to dismiss Rahul Tripathi for 7. New man in Nitish Rana (5) faced just six deliveries before becoming Coulter-Nile’s first wicket of the season.

Rahul Chahar then put the brakes on KKR’s innings by picking up two scalps in two balls – dismissing opener Shubman Gill (23-ball 21) and Dinesh Karthik (4).

Skipper Morgan and Andre Russell had added just 19 runs together when Jasprit Bumrah removed the latter for 12 (off 9 balls), reducing KKR to 61/5 in 10.4 overs.

From there, Morgan and Pat Cummins stitched an unbroken 87-run partnership to help steady KKR’s innings.

Cummins reached the 50-run mark off 35 deliveries – his first half-century in T20 cricket. His knock included five boundaries and two sixes while Morgan hit in two fours and two maximums during his 29-ball knock.

Boult (1/32), Coulter-Nile (1/51) and Bumrah (1/22) picked up a wicket each while Chahar returned with 2/18. Krunal Pandya (0/23) was the only bowler to go wicketless in the innings..

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links