Scores Upcoming Results
19-Jan-2021 16:29:00 GMT
South Africa in Pakistan 2020-21

Henrich Klaasen to lead Proteas in T20I series

Johannesburg: Heinrich Klaasen will be leading Proteas' T20 squad in the three-match series against Pakistan in Lahore from February 11-14, 2021, confirmed Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday.

Klaasen will be leading the national team for the first time. The strategy forms part of the measures put in place by CSA to ensure that the Test squad, captained by Quinton de Kock, can return to South Africa and satisfy the overseas travel COVID-19 quarantine protocol ahead of that team's three-match Test Series against Australia.

The T20 squad boasts several new faces as the Proteas continue to rebuild after the losses of numerous players to retirement in recent times.

There does not seem to be a better time for the National Selection Panel to look at new options than now, with the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup taking place in India this September.

Okuhle Cele, Ryan Rickleton, and Jacques Snyman receive their maiden national team call-ups, while Glenton Stuurman will return to the national team after a left quadriceps muscle strain saw him released from the Test squad ahead of the start of the second match against Sri Lanka and Johannesburg.

Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, and George Linde from the Test squad have also been included for the T20 fixtures.

They, along with Andile Phehlukwayo, Reeza Hendricks, and Jon-Jon Smuts, will offer the required experience that the predominantly youthful squad will require to excel in Lahore.

Proteas T20 Squad:
Heinrich Klaasen, Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Glenton Stuurman, Jacques Snyman

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links