Scores Upcoming Results
04-Oct-2009 13:44:00 GMT
Aus v NZ, CT final, Centurion

Australia vs New Zealand Champions Trophy Final at Centurion

Centurion: Australia and New Zealand will play in the finals of the ICC Champion Trophy on Monday, with both the teams vying to make history.

Australia is aiming to become the first country to successfully defend the ICC Champions Trophy title following their win 2006 in India by defeat West Indies in final.

New Zealand will also be out to make history by becoming the first side to win the tournament twice, having won the 2000 edition in Kenya by beat India.

Australia topped their pool group and beat England by nine wickets in Friday's semi-final in Centurion.

The Black Caps also finished top of their group, and have now notched three successive wins, over Sri Lanka, England and Younus Khan's side.

Team news

Australia: Ricky Ponting has a habit of turning it on on the big day. But he is a bruised captain, too, the only Australian leader since time immemorial to have lost the Ashes twice. Australia tried to retain same eleven in Final.

Squad (likely): Shane Watson, Tim Paine (wk), Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Hussey, Cameron White, Callum Ferguson, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle.

New Zealand: A discussion on allrounder Brendon Diamanti has its merits - Neil Broom hasn't had much to do in the tournament - but New Zealand are not likely to tinker with a winning combination. And the way Elliott came through the semi-final, a big worry for them has been taken care of.

Squad (likely): Brendon McCullum (wk), Aaron Redmond, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Grant Elliot, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori (capt), Kyle Mills, Shane Bond, Ian Butler.

Pitch and conditions
Centurion, apart from the Pakistan-Australia game, has had flat batting pitches, which could made it harder for New Zealand to pull off an upset. A 30% chance of precipitation means we should get a complete game.

Stats and trivia

  • New Zealand have entered 13 tournament finals before this, and have won four of those.
  • Since their 1999 World Cup triumph, Australia have reached 19 tournament finals, and have lost only three: in 1999 to Sri Lanka in Colombo, and two CB Series finals to England and India in 2006-07 and 2007-08 respectively.
  • The whole New Zealand team has scored six ODI centuries between them (Ross Taylor 3 and Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill and Grant Elliott one each), Ponting has 28.
  • Australia have beaten New Zealand in six tournament finals. This will be their first meeting at a neutral venue.

Match facts
Monday, October 5, 2009 (day/night)
Start time 1430 local, 1230 GMT

Head 2 Head

  Australia New Zealand
Ranking 1 4
Captain Ricky Ponting Daniel Vettori
Coach Tim Nielsen Andy Moles
Highest Total chased
Australia won by 5 wickets on Feb 03 2007
Target Chased: 290
New Zealand won by 1 wicket on Feb 19 2007
Target Chased: 346
Most Prolific Batsman
Ricky Ponting (1794 Runs)
Stephen Fleming (1241 Runs)
Highest Individual Score
Matthew Hayden (181 Runs)
Chris Harris (130 Runs)
Best Bowling Analysis
5/13 by Simon O'Donnell on Mar 03 1990
6/23 by Shane Bond on Mar 10 2003
Most Prolific Bowler
Glenn McGrath (59 Wickets)
Ewen Chatfield (51 Wickets)
Head to head
Total Played 116, Australia 80, New Zealand 32, No Result 4
Current Form LWNWW LLWWW (recent last)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links