Scores Upcoming Results
05-Jun-2012 02:36:00 GMT
West Indies in England 2012

Gayle Finally Recalled for West Indies

Barbados: Former captain Chris Gayle has been chosen by West Indies for the first time in 14 months as part of its one-day squad to tour England later this month.

The 32-year-old opener, whose public spat with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) resulted in him being ineligible for nearly a year, was included in a 15-man squad announced on Monday for the three-match series that begins on June 16.

The powerful Jamaican left-hander is the most prolific West Indian century-maker in ODIs, with 19 hundreds in 228 matches since his debut in 1999.

But Gayle played his last match for West Indies on March 23, 2011, the quarterfinal defeat to Pakistan in the World Cup.

Those comments, many hostile to current coach Ottis Gibson, led to his lengthy spell out of the team. Gayle instead played lucrative Twenty20 tournaments in India, Zimbabwe, Australia and Bangladesh.

Last March, a meeting between Gayle and the WICB, facilitated by CARICOM government ministers, cleared the way for his return. Last Sunday, the few residual matters in the long-running impasse were sorted out to clear the way for his return.

The squad is again led by Darren Sammy and includes a number of players who were recently playing in the Indian Premier League, which clashed with the current Test series in England.

One of them, Dwayne Bravo, returns as vice captain while fellow allrounders Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Dwayne Smith also boost the squad.

Opener Lendl Simmons is chosen again after recovering from a finger injury that ruled him out of the home series against Australia in March.

There was no place for Test openers Adrian Barath and Kieron Powell, who have struggled in the first two matches in the series in England.

West Indies ODI squad:

  • Darren Sammy (capt)
  • Chris Gayle
  • Johnson Charles
  • Lendl Simmons
  • Darren Bravo
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Denesh Ramdin (wk)
  • Dwayne Smith
  • Andre Russell
  • Tino Best
  • Fidel Edwards
  • Ravi Rampaul
  • Sunil Narine

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links