Scores Upcoming Results
Explore information on England tour of South Africa played from 13 February to 23 March 1896.

Result: England won the 3-match series 3-0

England tour of South Africa 1896

Date & time Detail
Thu 13 - Fri 14
1st Test - South Africa vs England
St George's Park, Port Elizabeth
England won by 288 runs
Mon 02 - Wed 04
2nd Test - South Africa vs England
Old Wanderers, Johannesburg
England won by an innings and 197 runs
Sat 21 - Mon 23
3rd Test - South Africa vs England
Newlands, Cape Town
England won by an innings and 33 runs

An English cricket team, organised and led by Lord Hawke, toured South Africa from February to March 1896. The team played three Test matches against the South Africa national cricket team. Hawke's XI is designated England for the Test series which they won 3–0, winning all three matches by substantial margins.

Series Squad

England Squad (01-Feb-1896)

Tim O'Brien (Captain), Christopher Heseltine, Harry Butt (Wicket Keeper), Audley Miller, Charles Wright, Lord Hawke, Hugh Bromley-Davenport, Sammy Woods, Arthur Hill, C. B. Fry, Tom Hayward, George Lohmann, Ted Tyler

South Africa Squad (01-Feb-1896)

Barberton Halliwell (Captain/Wicket Keeper), George Rowe, Charlie Llewellyn, Billy Frank, George Shepstone, Clement Johnson, Fred Smith, George Glover, Alfred Richards (Captain), Bonnor Middleton, Joseph Willoughby, Tommy Routledge, Frank Hearne, Robert Poore, Jimmy Sinclair, Charles Hime, Charles Fichardt, Robert Gleeson, Frederick Cook, Arthur Seccull

Note: Fixtures and start times are subject to change. The is not responsible for any changes that may be made. No responsibility is taken by for the accuracy of this information.
Scores Upcoming Results