Scores Upcoming Results
08-Mar-2013 04:20:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1st Test, Galle, 1st day

Sri Lanka Opt to Bat, Vithanage Debuts

Galle: Sri Lanka have won the toss and they are bat first in first Test against Bangaldesh at Galle International Stadium on Friday.

Kithuruwan Vithanage will be making his debut for Sri Lanka - he scored a terrific century in the tour match a couple of days back.

The big news is that Tamim Iqbal will not be playing for Bangladesh. The other guys to miss out from Bangladesh are - Rubel Hossain, Marshall Ayub and Robiul Hassan.

It is a new beginning for Sri Lanka as Angelo Mathews prepares to lead the country. With Mahela Jayawardene missing out, the Sri Lankan middle order will be slightly thin on experience. Thilan Samaraweera has also announced his retirement and his presence will be missed.

For Bangladesh, their talisman, Shakib Al Hasan, will miss the whole tour due to injury. Toss is just a couple of minutes away.


Sri Lanka:
Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Ajantha Mendis

Bangladesh Anamul Haque, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Ashraful, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain & wk), Nasir Hossain, Mominul Haque, Abul Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Elias Sunny, Shahadat Hossain

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links