Scores Upcoming Results
ICC Champions Trophy History, Mini World Cup Records, Champions Trophy started since 1998 and second biggest tournament after world cup.

History - ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is ODI cricket tournament. The Mini World Cup is second bigest tournament after "Cricket World Cup". It was inaugurated as the Knock Out tournament in 1998 in Bangladesh and has been played every two years since, changing its name to the "Champions Trophy" in 2002. In first four tournament, participate ten full members and two associate members. Now from 2008, this will be changed to the 8 highest-ranked ODI teams as placed 6 months out from the tournament.

1998: (Bangaldesh)
All of the matches in the 1998 Knock Out were played in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh. The tournament started with a match between Zimbabwe and New Zealand to decide which would proceed to the Quarter Finals. The first Champions Trophy was won by South Africa, who debeat West Indies in the final.

2000: (Kenya)
All of the matches in the 2000 Knock Out were played in Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. Top five team direct entered in Quarter Final, and three qualifying matches before the Quarter Finals, i.e. Kenya, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and England. The tournament was won by New Zealand debeat India in the final.

Cricket format One Day International
First tournament 1998 in Dhaka, Bangladesh
Tournament format(s) Round Robin (current)
Knock-out (previously)
Total participants 10
First champion South Africa
Current champion Pakistan

2002: (Sri Lanka)
All of the matches in the 2002 Knock Out were played in Colombo, the capital of Sri Lanka. This time participate ten full members and two associate member included Netherlands and Kenya. The final between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice to leave no result. Consequently, the ICC Champions Trophy for the year 2002 was jointly awarded to India and Sri Lanka.

2004: (England)
The 2004 Champions Trophy was held in England. First time matches played more than one venue, they were Edgbaston, The Rose Bowl and The Oval. Ten full members and two associate member Kenya and the USA include in tournament. The tournament was won West Indies defeat host team England.

2006: (India)
The 2006 Champions Trophy was held in India and final played at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai and other venues were Mohali, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mumbai. A new format was used. Eight teams were competing in the group phase: the top six teams in the ICC ODI Championship on 1 April 2006, plus two teams chosen from the other four Test-playing teams Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, chosen from a pre-tournament round robin qualifying round. West Indies and Sri Lanka qualified.

The eight teams divide into two groups of four in a round robin competition. While Australia and West Indies qualified from Group A, South Africa and New Zealand qualified from Group B for semifinals. Final played between Australia and West Indies. In the finals, Australia beat West Indies.

2008: (Pakistan)
Champions Trophy 2008 is postponed to October 2009 due to the security concerns

2009: (South Africa)
South Africa hosts Champions Trophy from September 24 to October 5, 2009

2013: (England)
The England & Wales host the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. India beat England by five runs in rain affected 20-overs game.

2017: (England)
The England & Wales again host the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. Pakistan beat India by 180 runs and clinch maiden title.

Year Venue Winner Runners Format Final Venue Team
1998 Bangladesh South Africa West Indies Knockout Bangabandhu National Stadium 10
2000 Kenya New Zealand India Knockout Nairobi Gymkhana Club 11
2002 Sri Lanka India / Sri Lanka Round robin R. Premadasa Stadium 12
2004 England West Indies England Round robin The Oval 12
2006 India Australia West Indies Round robin Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai 8
2008 Pakistan Postponed next year October due to the security concerns
2009 South Africa Australia New Zealand Round robin SuperSport Park, Centurion 8
2013 England India England Round robin Edgbaston, Birmingham 8
2017 England Pakistan India Round robin and Knockout Kennington Oval, London 8

Last Update: Jun 18, 2017
Scores Upcoming Results