Scores Upcoming Results
08-Jan-2021 15:38:00 GMT
South Africa in Pakistan 2020-21

Dupavillon and Baartman earns Maiden call-ups for Pakistan Test Series

Johannesburg: South Africa's cricket selectors on Friday named a 21-man squad for two Tests in Pakistan, starting in Karachi on 26 January.

The squad includes two fast bowlers, Daryn Dupavillon and Ottneil Baartman, who have not yet played at Test level. Dupavillon has played in one one-day international.

As many as five members of the 21-member squad could make their Test debuts in Pakistan, with seamers Ottniel Baartman and Daryn Dupavillon recieving their maiden call-ups in the format.

Batsmen Sarel Erwee and Keegan Petersen are both yet to make their Proteas debuts in any format, while Kyle Verreyne has only appeared in ODIs to date.

Tabraiz Shamsi's inclusion means he could make his first red-ball appearance for South Africa since 2018.

Quinton de Kock's side are buoyed by their recent 2-0 series win over Sri Lanka, which gave them 120 points in the ICC World Test Championship, and will be looking to continue that success on their first visit to Pakistan in 14 years where they will play two Tests.

Rabada missed both Tests against Sri Lanka due to a groin injury and his return to full fitness will provide some welcome experience to lead the attack. Pretorius too has been cleared to play after recovering from a hamstring strain.

Convener of Selectors Victor Mpitsang was cautious about the alien nature of conditions in Pakistan to the squad, but remained confident that they possessed enough depth in key areas.

Test squad:
Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links