Scores Upcoming Results
17-Feb-2021 13:14:00 GMT
Zimbabwe news

Musakanda named Zimbabwe Test squad for Afghan Series

Harare: Zimbabwe cricket team is set to lock horns with Afghanistan in an upcoming Test and T20I Series.

Zimbabwe will be touring UAE- Afghanistan’s home ground- in March 2021.

In the absence of few senior players, Zimbabwe has announced the 15-man squad for the upcoming Test tour against the Asian side.

Batting all-rounder Sean Williams has been selected to lead the Test team.

Many Zimbabwe cricketers are out of the tour due to various health concerns.

Senior batsman Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine are not part of the squad due to which selectors have opted for Sean Williams to lead the team in the red-ball matches.

Zimbabwe Test squad:
Sean Williams (captain), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza Butt, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Blessing Muzarabani, Kevin Kasuza, Wesley Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano, Regis Chakabva (wk).

Chamu Chibhabha has been ruled out as he suffers from a thigh injury.

Similarly, Tendai Chatara is going through right-upper-arm injury due to which he has not been able to make up for the series.

Wicketkeeper-batsman PJ Moor will also be out of action due to hamstring injury.

Due to absence of above-mentioned senior players, selectors have rolled in few other players to the squad for the Afghanistan tour.

Tarisai Musakanda, a top-order batsman, who last played a Test match against Sri Lanka in 2017, has been recalled.

Likewise, middle-order batsman and part-time spinner Ryan Burl has been recalled into the squad. Nurl has played just one Test against South Africa in December 2017.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links