Scores Upcoming Results
01-Jan-2022 06:47:00 GMT
India in South Africa 2021-22

Rahul named India captain for South Africa ODIs

Mumbai: With Rohit Sharma ruled out of the three-match ODI series against South Africa, KL Rahul will take over India's 18-player squad, announced by BCCI on 31 December.

This was supposed to be Rohit's first series as India's ODI captain but he is yet to recover fully from his recurring hamstring injury.

With the T20 World Cup and the ODI World Cup coming in two years, the selectors have erred on the side of caution on Rohit's behalf.

Jasprit Bumrah has been named as the vice-captain for the series; while R Ashwin, who last played an ODI in 2017 has been recalled to the side.

ODI squad:
KL Rahul (Capt.), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Solid performances in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare trophy have rewarded the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Washington Sundar and Venkatesh Iyer a place in the squad.

From India's previous full-strength ODI squad, the selectors have omitted Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, T Natarajan and Shubman Gill.

Also missing from the list is veteran pacer Mohammad Shami, who has been rested as a part of workload management, while Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel were not considered for selection due to injuries.

The three ODIs will be played on 19, 21 January in Paarl and in Cape Town on 23 January and will part of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links