Scores Upcoming Results
05-Nov-2014 11:02:00 GMT
ICC awards

Dhoni ODI, Mathews ICC Test Captain

Dubai: India captain MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and pacer Mohammed Shami have been included in the ICC ODI team of 2014 while Rohit Sharma got into the list as the 12th man. However, Indian cricketers had to face disappointment as none were named in the ICC Test Team of 2014.

Dhoni has been selected in the ODI team for the seventh year in a row. He has been appointed captain for the fifth consecutive year. Players previously selected in the team are AB de Villiers (2010, 2011 and 2013), Kohli (2012) and Ajantha Mendis (2009).

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews has been named captain of the Test side that also features two other Sri Lankans in Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath. This is the seventh time since 2006 that Sangakkara has been selected in the Test team. He missed out in 2009 and 2013.

Dale Steyn has also been selected for a record seventh successive year while de Villiers has been selected for the fifth time (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014).

Stuart Broad (2009, 2011 and 2012) and Mitchell Johnson (2009) are the other players who have previously been included in the Test team.

The squads were announced at the ICC headquarters by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by ICC Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

Anil Kumble was joined on the panel by Jonathan Agnew, former England international, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer, former chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):
David Warner (Aus), Kane Williamson (NZ), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), Joe Root (Eng), Angelo Mathews - captain (SL), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Rangana Herath (SL), Tim Southee (NZ), Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man).

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):
Mohammad Hafeez (Pak), Quinton de Kock (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind), George Bailey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni - captain & wk (Ind), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Mohammad Shami (Ind), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man).

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links