Live Scores Upcoming Results
03-Jan-2018 05:14:00 GMT
England in Australia 2017-18

Australia dropped Maxwell, Wade from ODIs

Sydney: Regulars Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade were axed from Australia's squad on Wednesday for this month's one-day international series against England.

Chief selector Trevor Hohns said ODI specialist Maxwell was omitted over consistency concerns, while Tim Paine takes the wicketkeeping gloves from Wade following his outstanding form in the Ashes Test series.

Selectors also named Australia's Test pace trio -- Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins -- and prodigious Twenty20 batsman Chris Lynn for the five-match series, starting in Melbourne on January 14.

Hohns said the selection panel wanted to have another look at Lynn, while seeking more consistency from Maxwell.

After reaching a high of 36.25 against India in January 2016, Maxwell's ODI batting average has gradually slipped back to 32.30 after the recent ODI series in India, where he played only three of five matches.

Over the same period his strike-rate has also dropped, and he has still only made a single ODI century - against Sri Lanka at the SCG during the 2015 World Cup. The selection chairman Trevor Hohns echoed Smith's call for greater consistency.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links