Scores Upcoming Results
The Ashes, one of the oldest international cricket series, dates back to the year 1882. Here, explore history of Ashes Cricket Game.

History - The Ashes History

The Ashes is the name of the Test cricket series that is played between England and Australia. It is played biennially, alternately in England and Australia. In a typical ‘Ashes’ series, there are five Test matches, two innings per match. The matches are played as per the regular rules for international Test-match cricket. Looking back into the history of the ‘The Ashes’, one of the oldest international contests in cricket, one finds that it dates back to the year 1882, the year when Australia gave England its first home defeat.

In the year 1882, English was beaten on its home soil for the first time, by the Australian cricket team, led by WL Murdoch. In an unfathomable match, with no precedents, England team was beaten by seven runs, with an innings that had fast bowler Fred Spofforth taking 14 wickets for 90 runs. This was when the legendary cricketer WG Grace was still a part of the team. The very next day of England’s defeat, a mock obituary was published in the Sporting Times, “in remembrance of England’s cricket.

The obituary read “In Affectionate Remembrance of ENGLISH CRICKET, which died at the Oval on 29th AUGUST, 1882, Deeply lamented by a large circle of sorrowing friends and acquaintances R.I.P. N.B. - The body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.” The ashes, which were only mythical at that point of time, became a reality in Australia tour 1882-83, which England team went to participate in. After beating Australia in the tour, Hon Ivo Bligh was presented with an urn containing the burnt remains of a ball.


S# Match Total Australia won England won Tied Drawn/NR
1.  Test 351 146 110 - 95
2.  ODI 149 82 62 2 3
3.  T20I 16 9 6 - 1

One Day Internationals (ODIs) records (Since 1971)

Total match - 149
Australia won - 82
England won - 62
Tied - 2
No Result - 3
First Match: Only ODI; Australia won by 5 wickets at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Jan 5, 1971
Last game: 2nd semi-final in ICC World Cup 2019; England won by 8 wickets at Edgbaston, Birmingham on Jul 11, 2019.

Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) records (Since 2005)

Total match - 16
Australia won - 9
England won - 6
No Result - 1
1st Match: Only T20I; England won by 100 runs at The Rose Bowl, Southampton - June 13, 2005
Last Match: Only T20I; England won by 28 runs at Edgbaston, Birmingham on June 27, 2018

Last Update: Sep 15, 2019
Scores Upcoming Results