Live Scores Upcoming Results
15-Apr-2019 05:02:00 GMT
ICC World Cup 2019

Smith, Warner return for World Cup

Melbourne: The return of Steve Smith and David Warner to Australia's squad for the Cricket World Cup came as little surprise on Monday but selectors still managed to cause a stir by omitting strike bowler Josh Hazlewood and in-form batsman Peter Handscomb.

Former skipper Smith and Warner were eligible for Aaron Finch's side after their 12-month ball-tampering bans ended last month but their return put a squeeze on the batting positions that saw Handscomb drop out.

Warner has registered five 50-plus scores, including an unbeaten century, for Sunrisers Hyderabad in seven IPL matches this season while Smith, returning from an elbow surgery like his former deputy, has also looked in good touch for Rajasthan Royals.

Spinners Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa have made the cut, with selectors going for the pace of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson and Jason Behrendorff, who has been in fine form in the IPL.

Australia's World Cup squad
Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.

Starc and Richardson have both been selected subject to fitness.

Teams have to submit their 15-member squads by April 23 but injury replacements can be named until May 23.

Opener Usman Khawaja, player-of-the-series in Australia's ODI series victory in India last month, was picked but may have to bat lower with Warner likely to partner Finch at the top.

Handscomb was left out despite his good form and the value he adds as a back-up stumper. Alex Carey has been named the sole wicketkeeper in the squad, which also contains all-rounders Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell.

The tournament, being hosted in England and Wales, runs from May 30 to July 14.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links