Scores Upcoming Results
30-Jul-2020 03:49:00 GMT
Pakistan in England 2020

England name unchanged squad for first Test with Pakistan

Manchester: England have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the first of their three Tests against Pakistan, which begins on Wednesday, 5 August at Old Trafford.

It comprises the side who beat West Indies in the final Test at the same venue on Monday - plus Zak Crawley, Sam Curran and Mark Wood.

Batsman Crawley was omitted for that game as England selected an extra seamer with Ben Stokes unable to bowl.

The series will again be played in a secure 'bio-bubble' without spectators.

Having been kept inside the 'bubble' for the duration of the West Indies series, which the hosts won 2-1, the England players were permitted a few days at home with their families but must return on Sunday, and will continue to have regular Covid-19 testing.

All six of the fast-bowlers who played a part in the series victory over West Indies have been retained in the squad alongside Dom Bess as the sole spinner.

England squad for first Test:
Joe Root (Yorkshire, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Dominic Bess (Somerset), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wk), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).
Reserves: James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Ben Foakes (Surrey, wk), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset).

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links