Scores Upcoming Results
07-Aug-2023 15:58:00 GMT
2023 ICC World Cup

Australia name preliminary squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Melbourne: Australia has announced some surprise selections in their 18-player squad for this year's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in India.

Uncapped leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and inexperienced all-rounder Aaron Hardie are the surprise selections, with Test star Marnus Labuschagne the notable omission from Australia's squad.

Australia is the most successful team in ODI cricket history, winning more than 60 per cent of their matches, with a record seven World Cup final appearances and have won the World Cup a record five times.

Australia is the first (and only) team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals (1996-2007), surpassing the old record of three consecutive World Cup appearances by the West Indies (1975-1983) and the first and only team to win 3 consecutive World Cups (1999, 2003 and 2007).

Australia's preliminary World Cup squad:
Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links