Scores Upcoming Results
18-Aug-2023 02:15:00 GMT
2023 ICC World Cup

England announced provisional World Cup squad

London: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Wednesday announced their 15-person provisional squad for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in India.

England have made a number of big calls with their initial squad for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, with all-rounder Ben Stokes named in a group of 15 players that does not include young batter Harry Brook and star quick Jofra Archer.

It was revealed on Wednesday that Stokes had reversed his decision to retire from ODI cricket and would return for next month’s four-match ODI series against New Zealand. England selector Luke Wright later confirmed the same 15 players named to take on the Kiwis is also the provisional World Cup squad.

That means Brook misses out on a maiden World Cup appearance, while Wright also revealed Archer would only be included in England’s World Cup plans as a travelling reserve.

Teams do not have to formally submit their provisional World Cup squad to the ICC until September 5, and further changes can be made up until 28 September.

England's provisional squad for the World Cup:
Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

England's World Cup campaign begins on the opening day on 5 October when they take on New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Before the tournament, the two sides will square off in a four-match ODI series as preparation for the marquee event.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links