Scores Upcoming Results
06-Sep-2023 02:26:00 GMT
2023 ICC World Cup

Australia pick Sean Abbott for World Cup 2023

Melbourne: Five-time champions Australia have finalised their 15-player squad for this year's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

Australia named a preliminary squad of 18 players for the 50-over showcase last month, but reduced that to 15 on Wednesday with the start of this year's event in India now less than one month away.

The unlucky trio to miss the final cut were all-rounder Aaron Hardie, pacer Nathan Ellis and young spinner Tanveer Sangha, with selectors instead opting for experience with the majority of their final 15. Test star Marnus Labuschagne also misses out on making the trip.

Fast bowler Pat Cummins will once again lead the side - with experienced quicks Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc providing him support with the new ball - while Sean Abbott is preferred over Ellis for the final spot in the squad as back-up pacer. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa provide the spinning options.

There were few surprises among the batters, with David Warner, Steve Smith and Travis Head likely to be used among the top-order and all-rounders Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Cameron Green adding some depth to a high-quality batting line-up.

Australia World Cup squad:
Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey (wk), Josh Inglis (wk), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links