Scores Upcoming Results
14-Feb-2012 12:18:00 GMT
India v Sri Lanka, CB Series, 5th match, Adelaide

India-Sri Lanka Thriller Ends in a Dramatic Tie

Adelaide: A determined half-century show by skipper MS Dhoni denied Sri Lanka their maiden win in the tri-series as the fifth ODI of the tournament ended in a dramatic tie at Adelaide on Tuesday.

Chasing 237, set by the Lankans, India lost wickets at regular intervals.

However, brilliant knocks from Gautam Gambhir (91) and Dhoni 58 took India to 236.

India got off to a poor start as Sachin Tendulkar once again failed to shine. The veteran scored just 15 and became the first Indian batsman to be dismissed.

Virat Kohli and Gambhir then consolidated the innings. But at the score of 61, Thisara Perera trapped Kholi (15) leg before wickets to give India second blow.

Rohit Sharma's willow too remained silent as the right-handed batsman could too score just 15.

Before India could recover, Lasith Malinga claimed his first victim in form of Suresh Raina (8).

Dhoni then joined Gambhir at the crease and tried to rescue the side from storm of wickets.

The duo shared 60-run stand for the fifth wicket, raising hope for India's victory.

However, a brilliant thrown by Nuwan Kulasekara not only restricted Gambhir from getting his ton but also turn the tide in favour of Sri Lanka.

Gambhir's dismissal once again triggered India's collapse.

Ravindra Jadeja, Irfan pathan and Vinay Kumar went back in quick succession before Dhoni held his nerve in the final over to deny Sri Lanka their first win.

Sri Lanka skipper Jayawardene won the toss and decided to bat against India as the islanders look to register their first victory in the tri-series. Vinay Kumar (3-46) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2-30) led a discipline bowling attack to help India restrict Sri Lanka to 236/9.

Indian pacers Vinay Kumar and Irfan Pathan (1-38) gave India a prolific start as they took a wicket each inside 9 overs.

After losing three wickets early, Dinesh Chandimal (81) and Mahela Jayawardene (43) added 94-run stand for the fourth wickets to revive the Sri Lanka innings. But the duo fall in quick succession during the batting powerplay to give India edge in the final stages of their innings.

Some lofty shots by Sachithra Senanayake (22 not out) in the end helped Sri Lanka set a decent 237-run target for India after they were reduced to 210/7 in 46.3 overs from 173/3 in 36.1 overs.

Chandimal was run out trying to steal a cheeky single in the 38th over after he completed his fifth ODI fifty to revive Sri Lanka innings. The right-hander hit a six and six boundaries in his brilliant 91 balls knock.

Pacer Vinay Kumar trapped Jayawardene leg before to provide India a crucial breakthrough as he ended dangerous-looking 94-run fourth wicket partnership between Jayawardene and Chandimal.

Jayawardene played a vigilant but smart innings of 43 off 49 balls with just two boundaries before Vinay Kumar dismissed him.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin got better of patient Kumar Sangakkara (31) as Sri Lanka lost their third wicket with just 79 on board in 19.4 overs.

After losing two early wickets, Sangakkara revived the Lankan innings with Dinesh Chandimal as the duo added valuable 51-run for the third wicket. Sanga played a watchful innings of 31 off 56 balls, hitting just two boundaries.

India pacers Irfan Pathan and Vinay Kumar struck early to put India in front on Tuesday.

Comeback pacer Pathan dismissed Tillakaratne Dilshan (16) in the eighth over to reduce Lanka to 28/2 in 7.1 overs.

Brief scores
Sri Lanka 236 for 9 (Chandimal 81, Jayawardene 43, Vinay 3-46, Ashwin 2-30)
India 236 for 9 (Gambhir 91, Dhoni 58*, Thisara 2-45)
Result Match tied
MOM MS Dhoni (India)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links