Scores Upcoming Results
18-Jul-2013 03:15:00 GMT
South Africa in Sri Lanka 2013

Chandimal Youngest Sri Lanka ODI Captain

Colombo: Young Dinesh Chandimal will lead Sri Lanka in the first two of the five ODIs against visiting South Africa in an stop-gap arrangement in the absence of regular captain Angelo Mathews.

The 23-year-old Chandimal was named to captain the home side as Mathews is currently serving a two-match ban for slow over rates during the recent triangular series involving West Indies and India in the West Indies.

Left-handed middle order batsman Lahiru Thirimanna has been named the new vice-captain in the 15-member squad announced by Sri Lanka Cricket today.

Senior batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan, who missed the tri-series in the West Indies due to an injury, returns to the side and will partner Upul Tharanga for the opening wicket.

Thisara Perera also returns at the expense of the spinning all-rounder Jeewan Mendis. Also making a comeback after a long lay off is Jehan Mubarak.

There is no place for the young opening bat, left-hander Kusal Janith Perera. His run of poor form in the Champions Trophy in England has kept him out.

The first ODI will be played on July 20.

Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Perera, Jehan Mubarak, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Shaminda Eranga, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal

In Thisara Perera, Jehan Mubarak, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Angelo Perera

Out Kusal Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Jeevan Mendis

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links