Scores Upcoming Results
28-Jul-2013 16:34:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v South Africa, 4th ODI, Pallekele

All Round Sri Lanka Secure Series

Pallekele: Ajantha Mendis 4/51 and Lasith Malinga 3/52 followed by Tillakaratne Dilshan (115*) and Kumar Sangakkara (91) helped Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 7 wickets to take an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match ODI series.

238 was thought of as a challenging score at the break, but the seniors, Sanga and Dilshan made it seem as if South Africa were at least 50 short.

A dominant partnership between Dilshan and Sangakkara ensured that Sri Lanka won the match with a huge degree of comfort.

Dilshan scored his 17th ODI hundred while Sangakkara chipped in with 91. The duo added 184 runs for the 2nd wicket and all but sealed the victory for the hosts. Dilshan is named the Man of the match for his allround performance

Sri Lanka go 3-1 ahead, it means final game is a dead rubber.

Earlier, JP Duminy hit 97 and a fit-again Hashim Amla made 77 to lift South Africa to 238 all out.

After the Proteas good start by losing eight wickets for 87 runs after cruising at 118-1 in the 22nd over.

Duminy lashed seven boundaries and two sixes before he was last man out in the 49th over, bowled by unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis three runs short of a century.

Mendis finished with four for 51, while sling-arm fast bowler Lasith Malinga claimed three for 52 and Tillakaratne Dilshan took two wickets.

Amla, batting for the first time in the series after being injured while fielding in the only other game he played, anchored the start with a fluent half-century that contained nine boundaries.

Duminy shared a second-wicket stand of 101 with Amla after Quinton de Kock had been bowled by Malinga in the third over.

Dilshan removed Amla leg-before and had skipper AB de Villiers caught behind by Kumar Sangakkara in the space of eight runs to make it 126-3 in the 25th over.

Faf du Plessis helped Duminy add 46 for the fourth wicket but his dismissal for 23, stumped off Rangana Herath, triggered a middle-order collapse.

Mendis bowled David Miller and had Farhaan Behardien caught at short-leg two balls later as South Africa slipped from 172-3 to 173-6.

Malinga returned to dismiss Robin Peterson (13) and Rory Kleinveldt (eight) before Mendis had Morne Morkel leg-before.

Earlier, South Africa have won the toss and decided to bat first.

The Proteas have made a couple of changes - Hashim Amla and Kleinveldt come in. Alviro Petersen and Ryan McLaren dropped.

Sri Lanka have made just one change. Lahiru Thirimanne comes in for Angelo Perera.


Sri Lanka:
Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers (Captain), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne Morkel, Farhaan Behardien

Brief scores
South Africa
238 (Duminy 97, Amla 77, Mendis 4-51, Malinga 3-52)
Sri Lanka 239/2 (Dilshan 115*, Sangakkara 91)
Result Sri Lanka won by 8 wickets
MOM Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links