Scores Upcoming Results
28-Jan-2017 11:30:00 GMT
India v England, 2nd T20, Nagpur

India look to avenge red-hot England to level series

Nagpur: Whether India will level series or England will seal it 2-0, is a question only time will tell. Here's a detailed preview of 2nd T20I at Nagpur.

England, for that matter, do not face the selection conundrum. They have all the bases covered as well as played as a cohesive unit to prove why there are superior in the T20 extravaganza.

England drew the first blood in the shorter format of the game as they register a comfortable seven wicket victory over India in the first T20 match. The Three Lions had a disappointed tour as they lost the Test series 4-0 and the ODI series 2-1.

Eoin Morgan and his men have an opportunity to seal the T20 series if they go on to win the second match in Nagpur. In the first match, it was England's impressive bowling that helped them restrict the hosts from posting a big total.

Indian batsmen struggled to impress with the bat as the wickets kept falling at regular interval. Virat Kohli's side were able to manage 147 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs.

Jason Roy and Sam Billings gave a very good start to the visitors who posted over 40 runs on the board after three overs. Despite spinner Yuzvendra Chahal dismissing both the England openers, India were unsuccessful in stopping England.

Morgan and Joe Root's 83 runs partnership, which involved the skipper's half century made sure England took the lead for the first time. They will be pushing for a win in the second T20, but will be aware that India will be looking to bounce back from the defeat in the first match.

The pressure will be on KL Rahul and Suresh Raina to perform with the bat, if they will be given a chance to play in the second T20I. A defeat for England on Sunday will see the course of the three match series being decided in the last match on 1 February.

Teams from

India: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, , Parvez Rasool, Amit Mishra, Yuzvendra Chahal

England: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Jake Ball, Chris Jordan, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, David Willey

Stats and trivia

  • Amit Mishra is one wicket short of reaching the landmark of 200 wickets in Twenty20 cricket
  • India have lost two match in chasing at the VCA Stadium.

Match facts
Sunday January 29, 2017
Start time 1900 local (1330 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links