Scores Upcoming Results
21-Feb-2017 08:30:00 GMT
Australia v Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I, Adelaide

Sri Lanka looks to 3-0 Cleansweep

Adelaide: A day before Australia begins its four-Test series against India in Pune, another Australian side will take on Sri Lanka in the third and final Twenty20 International in faraway Adelaide.

Australia's first aim on dead rubber would be to salvage some pride, having already conceded the series with last-ball losses in both earlier games.

Aaron Finch, Australia's captain for the series, didn't mince words when he said after losing the first match that his country had underperformed in the format 'since forever'.

The inexperience, though, is telling in the bowling department as Australia has allowed Sri Lanka to twice chase down competitive totals despite having it in bother at various points.

Adam Zampa can expect to be considered for a recall in Adelaide.

Credit, however, should also go to the visitor. Sri Lanka came into the series having been whitewashed 5-0 by South Africa in the one-dayers, but was still high on confidence as it had won the preceding T20I series 2-1.

The onslaught in both games has been led by Asela Gunaratne, the latest hero. The right-hand middle-order batsman has twice helped Sri Lanka to victories in tough chases with half-centuries.

However, miss Niroshan Dickwella at the top, the wicketkeeper-batsman having been suspended on Tuesday for two limited-overs matches after showing dissent at the umpire's decision in the previous game which pushed his cumulative demerit points beyond the minimum four.

The bowling too has been bolstered by Lasith Malinga's return. Nuwan Kulasekara too will be on a high, having picked up four wickets in the second T20I.

Teams from:

Aaron Finch (capt), Pat Cummins, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Klinger, Tim Paine (wk), Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (capt), Vikum Sanjaya, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dilshan Munaweera, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Lakshan Sandakan, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Isuru Udana.

Match facts
Wednesday February 22, 2017
Start time 1920 local (0850 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links