Scores Upcoming Results
28-Oct-2017 14:30:00 GMT
South Africa v Bangladesh, 2nd T20I, Potchefstroom

Improved Bangladesh hopes to avoid whitewash

Potchefstroom: After conceding the Test (0-2) and One-Day International series (0-3), one would have expected that a change in format would also bring a change in fortunes for Bangladesh.

However, there was no reversal of script despite an improved batting effort as Bangladesh went down by 20 runs in the first Twenty20 International.

Bangladesh’s tour comes a full circle in the second and final T20I on Sunday (October 29) in Potchefstroom, the same venue where it began the series and lost the first Test by 333 runs.

On Friday, in pursuit of 196, Bangladesh needed one of its experienced middle-order batsmen - Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman or Mahmudullah – to take them over the line, but none of them could deliver.

Bangladesh has struggled against extra pace and the short ball on this tour, and its travails continued in the opening T20I too when South Africa’s four-pronged pace attack, that included debutant Robbie Frylinck, combined to keep it to 175 for 9.

For its part, South Africa has ticked most boxes throughout the series, and even in the absence of the injured Faf du Plessis, the regular captain, who withdrew from the T20I series after sustaining a lower back injury in the final ODI.

JP Duminy, standing in for du Plessis, promoted himself up the order but couldn’t do much with the bat.

South Africa’s formidable total was set up by Quinton de Kock’s brisk half-century, and his 79-run stand with AB de Villiers, who made a quickfire 49. But South Africa’s relatively inexperienced bowling attack did well to maintain a stranglehold on the Bangladesh lineup.

The hosts will look to maintain its unbeaten streak and end the series with another sweep.

Despite bruising victories in the Tests and ODIs, it was the first time in four weeks that Bangladesh put up some fight, it might take some heart from that and try to snap the winless streak on Sunday.

Teams from

South Africa:
JP Duminy (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wk), AB de Villiers, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Liton Das (wk), Nasir Hossain, Mehedi Hassan, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin.

Pitch and conditions

The first Test was held in Potchefstroom, which produced a lot of runs but also afforded a bit of turn.

Stats and trivia

This will be the first T20 international held in Potchefstroom.

Match facts

Sunday October 29, 2017
Start time 1430 local (1230 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links