Live Scores Upcoming Results
04-Dec-2017 15:22:00 GMT
Sri Lanka in India 2017-18

Washington, Thampi, Hooda earns T20 call-up

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian team for T20I series against Sri Lanka.

The Men in Blue would be led by Rohit Sharma in the absence of their full-time skipper Virat Kohli who has been rested from the limited overs fixtures.

Rohit was earlier given the responsibilty to lead the team in the three-match ODI series as well.

The selection committeee picked a few new faces for the T20I series. Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda and Basil Thampi were included in the squad.

India Sri Lanka T20 squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt.), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

Thampi impressed the pundits with his abilities during IPL and for India ‘A’ side while Siraj who made his T20I debut against New Zealand earlier has retained his spot.

Jaydev Unadkat proved his worth for Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL after ending as the second highest wicket-taker after Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Shikhar Dhawan has been rested for the T20I series and the responsibility for opening the innings would now be on the skipper Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul.

The T20I series is scheduled to begin from December 20 in Cuttack.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links