Scores Upcoming Results
16-Dec-2017 15:58:00 GMT
Ind v SL, 3rd ODI, Vizag

Both Teams eyes series win in final ODI

Visakhapatnam: After a disappointing show with the bat in Dharamsala, India, riding on a brilliant unbeaten 208 by Rohit Sharma, levelled the three-match One-Day International series against Sri Lanka in Mohali.

The series will be up for grabs when the teams meet for a final showdown at the Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.

Rohit Sharma courtesy his unbeaten 208-run knock threw cold water on Sri Lanka’s dreams of a series win.

The Indian batting line-up would be oozing with confidence after their heroic display in Mohali.

The opening pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Sharma is expected to get India off to a flying start yet again.

Young gun Shreyas Iyer who looked in good nick in the 2nd ODI must have gained a lot of confidence after his knock of 88. He will be looking forward to making full use of his opportunities in the upcoming matches.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, were jolted in the 2nd ODI after a dream start at Dharamsala. The Sri Lankan bowlers failed to execute their plans with Thisara Perera and Nuwan Pradeep conceding more than 10 runs per over.

The Lankans will attempt to resurrect themselves and take the attack to the opposition on Sunday.

Despite putting up a horrific bowling show in Mohali, Sri Lanka are expected to go in with an unchanged XI.

However, if they decide to make a change, except their no 3. Lahiru Thirimanne to make way for the centurion from the Delhi Test, Dhananjaya de Silva.

Angelo Mathews, who was Sri Lanka’s sole shining light at Mohali, has recovered from cramps and has been declared fit for the 3rd ODI.

India are unlikely to make any changes to the side that battered the Lankans in the second ODI.

Kuldeep Yadav is an outside bet to replace off-spinner Washington Sundar who made his debut in the 2nd ODI.

Teams from:

Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ajinkya Rahane, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Siddarth Kaul

Sri Lanka:
Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera (Capt.), Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chaturanga de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Kusal Perera

Pitch and conditions
ACA-VDCA pitch has always produced an even contest between bat and ball. The coastal conditions could remind Sri Lanka more of Colombo than Mohali.

Stats and trivia

  • MS Dhoni needs 102 more to become the fourth Indian - and the 12th overall - to reach 10,000 ODI runs.
  • India have won each of their last six bilateral series deciders.

Match facts
Sunday December 17, 2017 (d/n)
Start time 1330 local (0800 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links