Scores Upcoming Results
07-Jan-2019 05:30:00 GMT
Aus v Ind - 4th Test, SCG, day 5

India Claim Historic Test Series Win in Australia

India 7 for 622 dec (Pujara 193, Pant 159*, Jadeja 81, Agarwal 77, Lyon 4-178) drew with Australia 300 (Harris 79, Kuldeep 5-99) and 0 for 6

Sydney: Virat Kohli on Monday became the first Indian captain to register a Test series win in Australia.

India and Australia played out a draw in the fourth Test after continuous rainfall over the large part of Day 4 and Day 5 affected proceedings and Australia’s chances of equalising the series. With the anti-climax, India won the series 2-1.

In 11 previous attempts, India had only drawn a series in the longest format twice, while losing nine. Bishan Singh Bedi had led India to a series draw in 1977-78 tour, after which Sourav Ganguly had done the same in 2003-04 tour.

Cheteshwar Pujara, at number three, stood head and shoulders above the rest with 521 runs in the series. Not so surprisingly, he was adjudged as the Man of the Match and Man of the Series. First hundred was special, scoring it in Adelaide and going 1-0 up is something which we were all aiming for.

India came into the Sydney Test having retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at MCG in the Boxing Day Test and a 3-1 margin looked to be on the cards but for the rain. The duo of Pujara and Rishabh Pant scored big hundreds and batted Australia out of the match and hence the series as well.

With four sessions left to play, India enforced the follow-on after taking a 322 run lead. But the rain gods decided to inflict the lesser pain on the hosts.

Kohli referred to the series win as the greatest achievement of his cricketing career while also expressing his joy at leading this unit.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links