Scores Upcoming Results
10-May-2022 02:18:00 GMT
MI Vs KKR – 56th Match, Mumbai

Cummins stuns Mumbai despite Bumrah five-for

Kolkata Knight Riders 165 for 9 (Venkatesh 43, Rana 43, Bumrah 5-10) beat Mumbai Indians 113 (Kishan 51, Cummins 3-22) by 52 runs.

Mumbai: The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were back to winning ways in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 after defeating Mumbai Indians (MI) by 52 runs on Monday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Pat Cummins starred with a three-wicket haul which helped KKR register a comprehensive victory despite Jasprit Bumrah’s exceptional fifer in the first innings.   

Chasing 166 for victory, MI lost skipper Rohit Sharma’s wicket early in the innings after the right-handed batter was caught behind off Tim Southee’s bowling.

Ishan Kishan was on the move with three fours at the top. MI were 26-1 after 4 overs. MI lost their second wicket after Tilak Varma was caught at first slip off Andre Russell.

MI were 37-2 at the end of the powerplay with Ramandeep Singh and Ishan Kishan out in the middle.

The duo stitched a steady partnership and rescued MI out of trouble. Russell claimed his second wicket after Ramandeep Singh was caught at backward point.

Tim David creamed three fours in his first three deliveries but the right-handed batter failed to clear the ropes against Chakaravarthy in the 13th over.

Kishan crossed his half-century in the next over but Pat Cummins scalped three wickets including the big wicket of Kishan in the 15th over and MI were 7 down.

Cummins conceded only 5 runs in the final over of his spell as MI required 54 off the final three overs. MI lost their final three wickets after Karthikeya, Pollard and Bumrah were run-out courtesy of an excellent fielding display by the KKR fielders.

Earlier, KKR, who were put in to bat first, made five changes to the eleven. Venkatesh Iyer provided KKR a confident start after the left-handed batter smacked two sixes.

The fifth over produced 17 runs and the fifty partnership was up between Venkatesh Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane. Kumar Kartikeya scalped the first wicket after Iyer miscued a shot and was caught inside the circle. KKR were 64-1 at the end of the powerplay.

Rahane was joined by Nitish Rana and the duo kept the runs ticking to help KKR reach 87-1 at the halfway stage. Kartikeya scalped his second wicket of the innings after the left-arm spinner rattled the stumps of Rahane.

Rana clobbered two sixes in the same over and continued dealing in boundaries after producing two more maximums off Pollard’s bowling. Skipper Shreyas Iyer joined Rana at the crease and KKR were 123-2 at the end of 13 overs.

Murugan Ashwin found success in his third over after skipper Iyer was caught behind. Andre Russell was up and running with a six straight down the ground.

However, Jasprit Bumrah shifted the momentum back in MI’s favour after dismissing the dangerous Russell and well-settled Rana. KKR were 140-5 with five overs to go.

The right-arm pacer continued chipping away with wickets after scalping three wickets in the 18th over to dismiss Sheldon Jackson, Pat Cummins and Sunil Narine.

Rinku Singh hammered a six in the penultimate over but KKR lost their 9th wicket after Daniel Sams holed out to the deep. Bumrah only conceded 1 run in the final over and KKR posted 165-9 in the first innings.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links