Scores Upcoming Results
15-Dec-2022 02:50:00 GMT
New Zealand in Pakistan 2022-23

Williamson to step down as New Zealand Test captain

Auckland: New Zealand have wasted no time in ushering in Tim Southee's reign as captain as the Black Caps named their squad for their upcoming two-Test tour of Pakistan.

The Kiwis announced earlier on Thursday that Southee was taking over from Kane Williamson as New Zealand Test captain and the fast bowler's first assignment as skipper will come in Pakistan over the New Year.

Southee leads a new-look squad that will be without fellow quicks Trent Boult (unavailable) and Kyle Jamieson (back injury), with veteran spinner Ish Sodhi and white-ball specialist Glenn Phillips among the players included.

Uncapped pacer Blair Tickner is also named in the 15-player squad, with Williamson to continue in his role as batter and to provide valuable support to Southee and vice-captain Tom Latham.

The matches in Pakistan is the final World Test Championship series for New Zealand this period, with the Black Caps out of the running to defend the title they won against India at Lord's in 2021.

Pakistan still have some hope of sneaking into the decider and will be keen to keep their chances alive when New Zealand visit for their first Test series in the Asian country since 2003.

The first Test commences in Karachi on December 26, with the second Test taking place in Multan from January 3.

New Zealand Test squad for Pakistan:
Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links