Scores Upcoming Results
03-Feb-2012 08:24:00 GMT
Australia v India, 2nd Twenty20, Melbourne

2nd T20I | Australia bat, Finch and McKay in

Melbourne: Australian skipper George Bailey won the toss and decided to bat first against India in the second and final Twenty20 international at the MCG on Friday.

Australia have made three changes in their playing eleven as Travis Birt, Dan Christian and James Faulkner made the way for Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh and Clint McKay.

India, on the other hand, retained the same team that lost the first Twenty20 match on Wednesday.

Stung by a prolonged losing streak in what has turned out to be a nightmarish tour, a hapless India will now look to avoid a Twenty20 whitewash after being whitewashed in the four-match Test series.

India had hoped for redemption in the limited over format but they again succumbed to a 31-run defeat in the first Twenty20.

The young legs did show some energy on the field but at the batting crease, they were no different to their Test seniors and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has to do something to inspire his team on Friday.

In the bowling department too, the Indians failed to make early inroads in the Australian line-up and now that off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin's card has been shown up to be blank by a rampant David Warner.

The wicket at the MCG also might not suit spinners on Friday so overtly as it did in the ANZ Stadium. It's a batting wicket and the skills of the bowlers would be tested utmost.

Australia, on the other hand, have been simply ruthless so far as after mauling India in the Test series, the hosts notched up a convincing victory in Sydney and they would now look to complete a Twenty20 clean sweep against the visitors on Friday.


George Bailey (capt), David Warner, Travis Birt, Daniel Christian, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, David Hussey, Brett Lee, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk)  and Brad Hogg.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja and Manoj Tiwary.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links