Scores Upcoming Results
01-Jul-2010 05:40:00 GMT
ICC news

Sharad Pawar Takes Over as New ICC President

Singapore: Former BCCI chief Sharad Pawar has taken over as International Cricket Council President on Thursday, becoming the second Indian, after Jagmohan Dalmiya, to occupy the top post.

Pawar became the seventh ICC President, succeeding Englishman David Morgan.

Dalmiya was the first Indian to be elected for the post, in 1997. Th decision was taken in the annual conference week which began on June 27 with the Chief Executives' Committee (CEC) meeting.

The main agenda for the CEC meeting was the subject of the Future Tours Programme 2012-20, including possibility of having ICC Test and ODI leagues.

The Executive Board also received updates on the design of mandatory Safety and Security Regulations drawn up by Security Task Force, chaired by Paul Condon, following the Lahore attack last year.

Pawar becomes the president at a time when Indian subcontinent will organise the World Cup 2011.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links