Scores Upcoming Results
29-Apr-2024 04:50:00 GMT
2024 T20 World Cup

Conway named in Williamson-led New Zealand T20 World Cup squad

Wellington: New Zealand named their 15-player squad for the ninth edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 on Monday, with the Black Caps opting for an experienced squad that includes Kane Williamson as captain and fast bowling duo Tim Southee and Trent Boult.

It will be the sixth appearance for Williamson at a T20 World Cup and fourth as skipper, with Southee set for his seventh appearance at the tournament and Boult his fifth as the Kiwis seek a first title in the shortest international format of the game.

There were no major surprises in New Zealand's squad, with key pacer Kyle Jamieson (back) and all-rounder Adam Milne (ankle injury) ruled out of the event through injury and the likes of Will O'Rourke, Tom Latham, Tim Seifert and Will Young missing out on selection despite some recent good form against the white-ball.

New Zealand Squad:
Kane Williamson (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears.

There was also no shock return for experienced top-order batter Colin Munro, with selectors instead opting to include young gun Rachin Ravindra - alongside fast bowler Matt Henry - as one of two players yet to previously appear at a T20 World Cup.

The Kiwis will also take young pacer Ben Sears to the USA and West Indies as a travelling reserve if required.

New Zealand's first match at the T20 World Cup comes against Afghanistan in Guyana on June 7, with further Group C contests to follow with co-hosts West Indies, Uganda and Papua New Guinea.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links