Scores Upcoming Results
08-Jan-2010 07:00:00 GMT
Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 4th match, Tri-series, Mirpur

SL vs Ban 4th ODI - Do-die Situation for Bangladesh, Lanka Seek Final

Mirpur: The host came up with a couple of spirited performances although they could not convert them into wins. In the first match against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh scored scored 260 while batting first. Although Bangladesh bowled with a lot of heart, they could not contain Dilshan, who went on to score a century to help Sri Lanka home.

The home team batters performed even better against India with Kayes, Iqbal and Mahmudullah hits fine fifties and helping Bangladesh post a challing total. Their bowlers too did a good work picking up the top three in quick succession. However, Dhoni and Kohli dug India out of the hole and emerged victorious.

Sri Lanka managed to win the first two games and strengthened their bid for a berth in the finals, the Lankan team is hampered by injuries to key players. Dilshan, who played a match winning knock against Bangladesh, had to sit out of the game against India due to a groin injury.

Sri Lanka, however, were not affected much as Samaraweera came up with a serene century, helping Sri Lanka top the table. Chamara Silva & Pushpakumara injureid during the match against India and ruled out of the tri-series.

These injuries forced the Lankan management to recall former captain Mahela Jayawardene, after he was declared fit, along with opener Mahela Udawatte and new-comer wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal. Lankan bowling, the likes of Welegedara, Lakmal and Randiv have performed impressively and Sri Lanka would bank on them to deliver yet again.

Team news

Bangladesh (from): Shakib Al Hasan(capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Syed Rasel, Shafiul Islam, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Shahadat Hossain

Sri Lanka (from): Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Suraj Randiv, Thissara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Thilan Thushara, Chanaka Welegedara, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Mahela Udawatte

Stats & trivia
Tamim Iqbal need 36-runs to reach 2000 runs in ODIs. He would become the fourth Bangladeshi batsman to reach the 2000 run mark.

Match facts
Friday January 08, 2010 (day/night)
Start time 13:30 local time (08:00 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links